Skip to content

Week 2 of FE3!

October 24, 2011

Hey everyone!

Since I’ve been running around plenty lately, I haven’t had much time to blog.  Nonetheless, I’ll give a very brief update of my 1st week of my 3rd year field experience going into week 2 tomorrow out of 7.

So far, so good.  Loving the job and the task at hand and truly feel comfortable and in my element teaching the students.  I feel as if I’ve come to figure out what kind of teacher I would be and I like what I’m seeing.  There’s always room for improvement, but everyone has a different teaching style and has to make sure that this style leads to proper learning for the students and maximizes their time in physical and health education classes.

The biggest thing I’ve come to realize (although I’ve always known this from previous experiences) is the time that physical and health educators put in.  Sure, everyone says how we’re lucky, to “play” all day in the gymnasium and have the summers off.  In reality, at least for top-notch physical and health educator, they’re usually the first ones at school and the last ones out.  Forget the classes that they teach, but the work that they do during recess and lunch, always organizing and supervising intramurals and extracurricular activities and sign up sheets for x,y, & z.  This goes on top of staying many hours after school has ended participating in whatever activities a school has to offer after school, whether there’s practice or tryouts for a school team or simply open houses and parent-teacher meetings to prepare for.

At the end of the day, I embrace these challenges.  The intrinsic reward at the end of it all is worth it.  There is no turning back; this is what I’m going to do with my life and this is how I will give back.  By shaping tomorrow’s generation today, I hope there could be a better future, no matter the scale at which this is achieved.

From → Posts

2 Comments
  1. Hi Nick,

    It sounds like you are having a very good experience in your student teaching/field experience. You have a great attitude as a new teacher. In my career of nearly thirty years as a 1st or 3rd grade teacher, I have been able to mentor many student teachers. I enjoy guiding student teachers because I love to be able to help them mold into the best teachers they can be. Good luck with your experience and even better luck in your teaching career.

    Donna O’Donnell Figurski

  2. Hey Donna,

    Thanks for your feedback, I really appreciate it! As a teacher in the making, I value the opinions of teachers like yourself that have been teaching for years and loved (and still love) what they do. 30 years is a long career and I’m sure it was a very rewarding one at that. It is teachers like you that make a different for us pre-service teachers working our way into our system. I’m sure you’re student teachers have been appreciative of what you had to offer in terms of molding them to being the best teacher that they can be and I’ve been lucky to have cooperating teachers that have wanted nothing less but for me to reach my potential in what I hope to be a long and meaningful teaching career.

    Once more, thanks for the comment and I can only hope that my teaching career is as lengthy and rewarding as yours has surely been!

    Nicholas S.

Leave a Reply

