Skip to content

Appreciation for Educators.

October 27, 2011

Here’s a little passage I found from a friend on their status on Facebook:

Ah yes ….. those teachers get paid way too much!

For those of you good at maths….Teachers’ hefty salaries are driving up taxes, and they only work 9 or 10 months a year! It’s time we put thing in perspective and pay them for what they do – babysit! We can get that for minimum wage. That’s right. Let’s give them $3.00 an hour and only the hours they worked; not any of that silly planning time,……… …or any time they spend before or after school. That………… would be $19.50 a day (7:45 to 3:…00 PM with 45 min off for lunch and plan– that equals 6 1/2 hours). Each parent should pay $19.50 a day for these teachers to baby-sit their children. Now how many students do they teach in a day…maybe 30? So that’s $19.50 x 30 = $585.00 a day. However, remember they only work 180 days a year!!! I am not going to pay them for any vacations. LET’S SEE…. That’s $585 X 180= $105,300 per year. (Hold on! My calculator needs new batteries).What about those special education teachers and the ones with Master’s degrees? Well, we could pay them minimum wage ($7.75), and just to be fair, round it off to $8.00 an hour. That would be $8 X 6 1/2 hours X 30 children X 180 days = $280,800 per year. Wait a minute — there’s something wrong here! There sure is! The average teacher’s salary (nation wide) is $50,000. $50,000/180 days = $277.77/per day/30 students=$9.25/6.5 hours = $1.42 per hour per student–a very inexpensive baby-sitter and they even EDUCATE your kids!) WHAT A DEAL!!!! Make a teacher smile; re-post this to show appreciation for all educators.

I haven’t confirmed the math for myself, but that’s beyond the point!

From → Posts

3 Comments
  1. Don’t you wish we could just be babysitters? That is a much more lucrative job.

    If they would agree to pay me a babysitter’s salary, I promise I would throw in reading, math, science, social studies, art, music, physical education, and handwriting … for FREE. I’d even do morning, lunch, and recess duty; and I’d be sure to hang out in the school yard for an extra ten minutes after school each day to be sure that all of my students are safely delivered to the loving arms of their guardians. I’d offer extra help after school too and come in early in the morning to tutor students who are struggling. I’d pat kids on the back and wipe their sniveling noses when they scrape a knee or elbow, and I’d put on a Flintstone or a caterpillar or butterfly bandaid to make them feel better. I’d help them look for their lost teeth before sending them to the nurse for their fancy certificate. I’d be a referee when Johnny takes Mark’s new toy truck at lunchtime and won’t give it back. I’d lend my shoulder to cry on when Susie tells Mary she has a new best friend. I’d correct papers and design lessons way after the dismissal bell rings and into the wee hours of the morning at home. I’d sit through hours of faculty meetings each week and come back at night for Back-To-School-Night and LIteracy Night and Games Night and Science Fairs and Art Shows, and PTA parties and parent/teacher conferences to tell the parents how wonderful their children are – because they Really are. If they would pay me a babysitter salary, I would do all of that … for FREE.

    Actually babysitter fees in my NYC area are between $10.00 and $15.00 an hour. I could have probably worked just a few years, retired by age thirty-five, and been a multi-millionaire.
    Too bad babysitting was not my life’s chosen profession. I love teaching too much.

    The way I figure it for my New York City area:

    $10.00 Babysitter Fee:

    25 children/class
    6.5 hours/day
    $10.00/hour/child
    184 school calendar days

    25 children x $10.00/hour/child = $250.00/hour for 25 children
    $250.00/hour for 25 children x 6.5 hours per day = $1,625.00/day
    $1,625.00/day x 184 school calendar days = $299,000.00/year

    I’ll sign! Where’s the dotted line?

    I’m worth it!

    $15.00 Babysitter Fee:

    25 children/class
    6.5 hours/day
    $15.00/hour/child
    184 school calendar days

    25 children x $15.00/hour/child = $375.00/hour for 25 children
    $375.00/hour for 25 children x 6.5 hours per day = $2,437.50/day
    $2,437.50/day x 184 school calendar days = $448,500.00/year

    I’ll sign! Where’s the dotted line?

    I’m worth it!

  2. Excellent insight, Donna!

    There’s not much I could add to what you’ve already expanded on. I appreciate the comment and I’m sure whoever reads this will appreciate it as well. So many good points made, it would be difficult to argue the opposite.

    Once more, one can see that the experience you’ve had over your 30+ years career in teaching is clear to see in your argument!

    Thanks again for sharing your thoughts! šŸ™‚

  3. Nick, I posted a tweaked version of my comment on my blog. I cited your blog and linked back to it.

    Donna

Leave a Reply

