Skip to content

Apps in the classroom: Seek ‘n Spell

January 28, 2012

Sadly, from what I’ve seen on the field, your bang-on when stating that SEN education tends to be sedentary. Although some educators will make the effort to get them moving, others are content with setting them up in isolation.

After reading your post, I downloaded the app as well and can honestly say that I can see the fun the SEN pupils could potentially have with apps like these ones, in which they’re challenged mentally, but remain physically engaged. Awesome share!

World Class Physical Education

In my experience I have found SEN education to be a sedentary experience confined to a small classroom/PC in the corner of a school. Being a PE teacher I am always looking to create lessons that are active and engaging for everyone.

In my current job, I am working 1-1/small groups with SEN pupils for 5 hours a week. This week I decided to experiment with a new app I downloaded to my iPhone last week: Seek ‘n Spell.

Seek ‘n Spell
Seek ‘n Spell is a game designed to combine outdoor spaces with virtual letters using your devices GPS signal. The object of the game is too actively collect the virtual letters by running around your school grounds/park. As you gather these letters, you gain points by spelling words with the letters you have just collected, in a race against time.

20120128-170606.jpg

On average, the area covered by the game…

View original post 133 more words

From → Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

